Goodreads: Caroline Eversole and the Gilded Gauntlet

Author: B.B. Morgan

Published: 6th October 2017

Source: Copy from Author

Rating: 4/5 (Really liked it)

Official Summary: “Caroline is no ordinary peacock, and she’ll prove it.

Caroline lives a life of luxury in the Fourth Terrace, made possible by her father’s prosperous shipping company, but she daydreams about pirates, mermaids, and a life of freedom on the high seas, away from her overbearing mother and her high-society demands. But everything is not as it seems; her father is not the gentleman he pretends to be. He is a pirate, and he needs Caroline’s help to retrieve the Gilded Gauntlet before its owner, Talbot Ghost, comes looking for it.

Caroline will be put to the test; help her father and the pirates, or do what she feels it right? Either will have ghostly consequences.” – Goodreads

(Disclaimer: I got a copy from the Author. Does not affect my review in anyway.)

Review: I like that this book kept me on my toes, it was always changing from where I thought it was going to head. The story wasn’t your stand cut and dry pirate book. The steampunk element added a nice touch, left the door open to other possibilities.

One of the main things I really liked about the book was the characters. You got to know them all very well, even the minion ones just based on their dialogue. Everyone felt real and felt like their own person. It wasn’t all black and white, most of the characters were grey or just trying to find their own way. For the ‘time’ period the book is based, you expect the main character to be weird about sex/intimate stuff but she not. Which I found a pleasant change, she wasn’t throwing herself at anything that walked. But she wasn’t in denial about it existence. Also liked how she wasn’t really a fighter.

I would have liked to have seen more magic in the book, maybe in the second if the Author plans on making it into more than a standalone. But overall the lack of magic was also good, it allowed the Author to focus on other elements and let them speak volumes about the book.

I am going to say a topic that is not very often spoken about. Periods. I liked how the Author handled that when it came to a female being on a ship. How do you deal with them when surrounded by men? She answered hat question, which is normally over looked or just ignored. Oh my pirates! Women have periods…